top of page
  • Christine

Upcycled Planter

I don't know about these cats of mine. Whatever hierarchical social structure cat families have, I wonder, if just like in the play CATS, I may be the Deuteronomy of the clowder.

(Notice I did not say crazy old cat lady.) Anyway, whenever I am absent more than a few hours, they run rampant over whomever is here to tend to their needs.


Four of the scoundrels looking all innocent like...


And that's what happened... apparently, the cats had wild parties every night on my recent trip to Kris Kinder Market.


Poor Pete endured the noise and cleaned up the mess and salvaged what he could.


A large empty potential pot...


Monday morning, as I emptied a large plastic food container, I saw the two broken tops of my dieffenbachia. Sighing, I figured I needed to go try and find a planter in mid-December and get them replanted as soon as possible.


Then I looked at the large, nearly empty container in my hand. Silly me... I was holding my new pot.


So I gathered some items and started construction.


Gathering materials...


First, I got out my measuring tape and cut everything to the right size... a bit of cardboard, a few sticks, and the plastic container...


Then, the paint... black on the single-face corrugated cardboard, saved from some packaging I got in the mail. Then on the sticks salvaged from the old bamboo blinds, a couple of shades of green. And in the midst of all the painting, I considered what trim I may have laying around... I thought of some green that might match the paint pretty well.


Woven trim...


So after the paint dried, it was time for glue... I decided to set the sticks onto the cardboard first to try out several patterns ... I liked the alternating pattern in the grooves best. After I glued the cardboard onto the planter, I glued the sticks on in the pattern I liked. I found that green ribbon trim in my stash of weaving and cut it to size. After I got the trim placed, I waterproofed the whole thing.


The finished product.


At last, I filled the planter with drainage and dirt, and broken stalks. Now, to let the universe tend to its own.


I looked at the end result, pleased. I patted my frugal self on the back for finding a way to upcycle old stuff and save my dieffenbachia tops all at the same time.

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page