top of page
  • Christine

Small Projects are Adult Fidget Toys

My grandparents and parents experienced the Great Depression, and as such, I tend toward hoarding, albeit a learned behavior.

However, after cleaning out my beloved grandmother's estate, I have found it much easier to declutter my home and destash my stuff.


That being said, I also remain frugal.


From a recent gathering


So when I make a dress or use fabric for a project, I loathe the thought of throwing out the scraps of fabric that cost me so much per yard.


What a dilemma! Since I am not a quilter (I don't need another hobby, I don't need another hobby, I don't need another hobby...), I can "throw out" all the money I spent on fabric, or I can have boxes of fabric scraps gathering dust.


The first cup cover I made c.2012


I came up with a solution that works for me.

When I am done making the main project, I cut the remaining fabric into 5"ish x 5"ish squares. Or sometimes circles.

For one thing, they stack easily and take up much less space.


I put a small stack of squares into a tote bag with a sewing kit of thread, scissors, and needles.


Then I have my little project bag I can grab and go. Usually to an SCA event, or really any time I need to just sit still and I may fidget and need something to do with my hands.


A cover I made practicing a new-to-me embroidery stitch.


Small transportable projects are like adult fidget toys.


For a cup cover, first, I sew a small hem along the edges of the fabric.

Sometimes I use leftover narrow wares I have woven on my inkle loom to sew along the edge.

Then I might decorate the top. I love having a small space to practice new-to-me embroidery stitches!

Then finally, I sew some leftover beads from another project or something weighty onto the corners. The extra weight helps keep the cover in place on a glass.


Covers ready to give out as thank you gifts.


When they are done, I give them all away!


They make great stocking stuffers or largesse or thank you gifts...

They are fabulous party favors for when you grill out...

or any time you want to keep flying critters or dust out of your favorite beverage.


So much satisfaction for my hoarding, generous, frugal self!


(Not to mention gratitude from my children, who certainly do not want to go through boxes of fabric scraps in my estate!)

837 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page