top of page
  • Christine

How Fast Does it Go?

I'm sure you've noticed by now, I love to create and more so, have a passion for sharing my knowledge.


So much so, that I often tell people when I start talking to, "Stop me when you're bored."


And, at times, I have to watch myself to remember to use everyday words rather than esoteric vocabulary when I explain things.


Anyway, one of my many pastimes is weaving ribbon or trim or narrow bands on an inkle loom.


I do own just a couple looms of different sizes and shapes and types...

To help me weave a variety of lengths and kinds of bands...


When I was given my first loom several years ago, I fell in love with the repetitive, soothing rhythm of weaving.


I nearly always have at least one loom set up and ready to weave. I keep one near-by for when I sit down to watch a movie (so I can busy my hands and also avoid boredom eating).


After I got that first loom, I wanted to learn all the techniques and all the ways I could make all the things!


I started taking classes and watching videos and buying books (just one or two)...


I learned to use a multitude of material and gauge... like chunky cotton or fingering wool or silk thread or horse tail hair or linen yarn... in a variety of patterns...


OH! If you're interested in creating your own patterns, just Google "inkle pattern generator" and several will come up.

I tend to use this one, though I have not tried them all.

The pattern generator helps create the design you want and is so much faster than on paper with colored pencils.


Anyway, I'm sure you noticed then, I love to talk about the cool stuff I have learned concerning weaving narrow wares.


So, the other day, I was sitting on the day bed in the mancave wrapping crochet cotton around the pegs of my loom, (called 'warping' the loom).


Pete and a couple of his buddies were watching a football game.

I'm not a huge sportball fan, yet listening to them yell at the television proved amusing.


During half-time, the fellas got up to stretch and get something to eat, and they noticed me sitting there with my loom.

Which sparked their curiosity and multiple questions. What's it for? Why those colors? That's a pattern on the paper? Which let me get my nerd on and answer their questions.


Finally, one guy asked, "What are you doing there now?"


To which (I didn't think about it) I answered, "Putting on the warp."


His response? "Wow, how fast does it go?"


It was easy to hide my chuckle since half-time was over and the game was back on.


(Hmmm... note to self... remember to be more careful of vocabulary choices.)

298 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page