top of page
  • Christine

Puzzles and Models and Steps... Oh My!

By now I'm sure you've heard me talk about the creative things other people make. All the everyday creativity that surrounds me keeps me inspired and piques my curious nature.

This last week, I went to visit my youngest daughter. You probably remember how she fills her life with creativity from the last time I visited.


Anyway, when I arrived at her home recently, she was putting together a wooden clock model she received for Christmas.


So many parts...


I must not get out enough, or mayhaps I don't shop enough, or something... because other people have shown me items they make from kits... and I am absolutely astounded at the level of detail and diverse treasures made from these boxes of seemingly endless tiny pieces.

I suppose any model really... whether plastic or wood or metal or resin or interconnected blocks... they all fascinate me. When I consider the model from conception to drawing board to writing out directions to making the parts... then putting the puzzle of parts together... fantastic.


Regardless of if the parts make cars or clocks or planes or ships or music boxes or whatever, watching the process of building something is very cool really.


Still more parts...


Now I'm thinking philosophically... (the train of thought in my brain leads me odd places)... so much of creativity is taking all the parts and making them into something else. It's about having the vision to see things that are not there yet... then making them... full-sized or model-sized does not matter.

Anyway, all these thoughts percolated through my brain while I watched Kari work on this clock over the course of a few days.


Hanging the finished clock.


I wanted to go find one of these kits and make my own. To see if I could do it, I suppose. Though, I really don't need another hobby... and if I bought one, I would probably need to do another...

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page