top of page
  • Christine

Bugs, Bugs, Bugs

Several years ago we had too many bugs around and in our house. We had boxelder bugs and ladybugs and seed beetles... well... bugs... methinks it's just part of winter country living.


When springtime arrived, the bugs disappeared... only to show up again as temperatures dropped.

Pete and I believe in harmless and/or beneficial bugs and try to leave them alone. However, when they get in the house (like a hundred every day) I tend to draw the line.


Praying mantis...


I know having the bank of south-facing windows, warm on cold winter days, only encourages the bugs to sunbathe in the winter months. I am not remodeling. Grin


We have too many critters around our wee ranch to use many poisons, so we seldom use herbicides or pesticides.

And neem oil spray is just awful in my tiny house.


Luna moth...


We put diatomaceous earth around the windows and caulked visible cracks. We sprayed the outside of the house with soapy vinegar water. Whatever non-poisonous remedies I could find.


Many of the little buggers (see what I did there ) got vacuumed off the inside of the windows in our daily fight to eradicate them. Pete and I called it our "War of the Worlds" vacuuming as we took turns several times a day. This was a three-year battle.


At long last, we were finally back to seeing the occasional boxelder bug, and I seldom saw a ladybug. I call one or two bugs every few days a success.


Another one to worry about...


Then over the past couple of years, I noticed a significant increase in aphids and spider mites and scale on my houseplants. Rats! So I did a bit of research and discovered the lady beetle's role in pest control.


I had traded one problem for another.


So I resorted to daily inspections of all my plants. Taking an hour or two out every day to try and eradicate the houseplant infestation cut into my playtime.

I would much rather be creating... painting and weaving and making...


Ladybugs on my bay...


Anyway, now I'm trying to strike a happy medium. When I see a ladybug, I move the wee predator to a plant that I know will provide lunch. (And the occasional praying mantis or lacewing I leave in the house when it's so cold out) The other bugs get vacuumed or tossed back outside.


All within reason. What the heck? We can all live together in peace.


They can do their job of tending to the icky plant-eating bugs and I'll do mine of writing and creating and enjoying retired life.

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page