top of page
  • Christine

Sportsball Creativity

Pete enjoys sportsball and watches the Superbowl every year.


I am normally not a huge sportsball fan... frankly, in my world, most sportsball games are not really interesting unless the score is close... I tend to check in the final few minutes... if the game is up for grabs... I will sit with Pete and watch the remainder of the game.

Although... I must admit... I do usually watch the Superbowl.

In the past, we have attended or hosted Superbowl parties...

Pete enjoys watching and having people (who truly appreciate the game) to talk to about the great plays...

I enjoy the socializing and the food and waiting for the many amazing and creative commercials, not to mention the half-time shows.

When I think about the massive effort of half-time producers and crews and the creative ways they manage the sets and the dancers and the music in the allotted time... it is mind-boggling.


Ready for half time...


Anyway, when we have people over to watch the game, we have to limit the numbers due to our tiny house. Which makes my job easier if I'm cooking something. A yummy flank steak and fixins with a few warmed tortillas will generally do the trick.


Most of the time, besides the entrée, we host by asking guests to "bring your own beverage and nibblybits to share". That way everyone has their favorites and my frugal self is not guessing what to buy.

I'm glad we are past (knock wood) the couple of years we had pandemic-style Superbowls.


That's when it was just Pete and I...


I did try to keep it festive... a few nibblybits, some tasty ribs... I watched the game and considered the creativity of the commercials and enjoyed the half-time shows... with me being Pete's only company to talk to about the great plays...

Regardless of the circumstances, regardless of the company, regardless of the year, I do my best to sound interested, nod in the right places, and make intelligent comments... Remind me... Who is Patrick Mahomes? *Wink*



Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page