top of page
  • Christine

Halloween!

While I'm not into the gore and the oogie-ness of Halloween, I do love to dress up. Become another character.


So Halloween is a perfect creative time for me to "play a part."


I decided the cow syringe was a wee bit dangerous... a broom would do...


With the pandemic, opportunities were slim, so this year I wasn't sure if the game was afoot, or if I would sit it out.


Well, I left the character-creating until the first part of the month... when the meeting schedules got set.


Then I started scheming.


And when I can't wear makeup...


I blatantly stole an idea from my friend, Sile. She works at a hospital and had decided to be a witch doctor at work that day. "How fantastic!" I thought.


And the gears in my head began working overtime.


A bit of embroidery adds detail...


Hmmm...


I have this cool leather mask I bought at a Renaissance Festival many years ago... and that fun purple and green velvet skirt... oh... and the lab coat from Teddy Bear Weekend ... what else?


My frugal self didn't really want to buy anything... so I put out a call for the thing I needed... a green or purple wig... oh... and a stethoscope...


True to form, my friends came through with flying colors (see what I did there?)


Are you scared? Hahaha...


I've heard it said, the devil is in the details... so...


I embroidered the coat "Dr. Awee Skar, W.D."...


I put red drops of watercolor on my nasty old white farm sneakers...


I found wee spiders for my hair...


I googled witch makeup and how to apply... (there are so many!)


(I also painted an n95 mask so if I decided to not wear the makeup, I could still be costumed.)


In the end, the only thing I purchased was the uber-cool black witch hat I ran across at a thrift store for $1.50.


Holy Moly! What fun! And I've worn both iterations of the costume so far!


It's the little creative things that make my day!


OH! a final note...


If you decide on the makeup... remember your moisturizer is the first layer...


I wonder how long for all the green to go away?

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page