top of page
  • Christine

Every Day Reminders

In days past, you may have heard me talk about my mirror. Since I frequently think about it, you just may have.


On the other hand, you may not have heard me tell of my mirror...



When I was a wee child we had a mirror hanging in the bathroom on the wall behind the commode.


It seemed like the largest mirror I had ever seen.


The corners of the glass had corroded a wee bit where the silver paint had peeled. The spots only added to the magic... it must have been magic... for I spent hours standing on the toilet seat lid looking into the mirror.


I now wonder how old it is and what the news of the day said...

I felt transported to other places as I played dress up with whatever clothes I found in the hamper. An old shirt or scarf went over my head or round my neck... I became a dwarf befriending Bilbo or a neighbor watching Jo run down the street. I sang on the mountaintop with Maria or walked with Dorothy in the land of Oz. When we moved to California, the old mirror stayed behind with the house in my grandmother's care.

Every time we visited and when I lived with her, the magic mirror was there... I became my own hero... it helped me win softball games and speech contests and science fair competitions. I could see in its depths my many adventures and how I could overcome adversity.


And other tangible memories of adventures...


When my grandmother passed, the mirror came to me. Now it hangs in my bedroom.

The edges still corroded, the mirror is crackled, the glass is clouded, the ornate wooden frame worn. Pete asked if I wanted a new mirror and grinned when I told him I wanted this one because it is magic.


I look in the mirror every morning.

I remember all the various adventures and the diverse people who have seen their reflections.


I look around the frame at the many pictures and notes and mementos of my life.

I am grateful for my magic mirror.

I think of all the faces peering out ... expectant ... angry ... carefree ... anguished ... joyous ... repentant

... heartbroken ... contented ... devoted

... my personal history looking back at me... And every day I am grateful.

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page